Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Text Size

Mar. 12 - Respected political polls shows Kingston in tough fight for U.S. Senate seat

By Lou Phelps, Savannah Business Journal

March 12, 2014 - A poll released Monday on the upcoming Georgia Senate race - conducted by the progressive political advocacy group Better Georgia - has results that show that Paul Broun of Athens has a significant lead over all other Republican candidates.  The group’s polling in past elections has been considered accurate.

The numbers are not good for Coastal Georgia favorite son Jack Kingston.  And, the results show that only 23 percent of likely Republican primary voters are undecided at this point, with only nine weeks left before the primary.

The poll results have gained national attention because in all matchups between a Republican candidate and Democratic candidate front-runner Michelle Nunn, she wins over all candidates except Broun with whom she is tied.

The poll has Paul Broun of Athens at 27%; Rep. Phil Gingrey of Marietta is at 14%; Rep. Jack Kingston of Savannah is at 13%; David Perdue is at 12%; and Karen Handel at 9% of those who state they are likely voters in the upcoming May Republican primary.  Two other candidates, Art Gardner and Derrick Grayson, were not included in the survey.  

But the results also mean that there will be a run-off election if the voter split continues, meaning Kingston might have a chance to come in second, and end up in a run-off with Broun.

The poll was conducted between March 5-6. Those surveyed were also asked who they voted for in the 2012 presidential election between Mitt Romney and Obama. The answers run close to actual results, adding credibility to the current poll results.


Follow Us!

  • Facebook: BrunswickDailyNews
  • Google+: brunswickbusinessjournal
  • Twitter:


BBJ Top Jobs
Coastal Empire News
Headquarters: 35 Barnard St., Suite 300, Savannah, GA. 31401.
Tel: 912-388-4692 | Hours: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Copyright 2019 - Coastal Empire News | Designed by Absolute Marketing